The Collected Stories of Grace Paley

0 out of 5
Rate this
Product is sold out!
Regarded as one of the finest American short story writers and admired by George Saunders, Susan Sontag and Salman Rushdie, this volume presents Paley´s collected works. Published as part of a beautifully designed series to mark the 40th anniversary of the Virago Modern Classics.

Here are all Grace Paley´s classic stories in one volume. From her first book The Little Disturbances of Man (1959), to Enormous Changes at the Last Minute (1974) and Later the Same Day (1985), Grace Paley´s quirky, boisterous characters and rich use of language won her readers´ hearts and secured her place as one of America´s most accomplished short story writers.

Her stories are united by her signature interweaving of personal and political truths, her extraordinary capacity for empathy and her pointed depiction of the small and large events that make up daily life. Books included in the VMC 40th anniversary series include:

Frost in May by Antonia White
The Collected Stories of Grace Paley
Fire from Heaven by Mary Renault
The Magic Toyshop by Angela Carter
The Weather in the Streets by Rosamond Lehmann
Deep Water by Patricia Highsmith
The Return of the Soldier by Rebecca West
Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston
Heartburn by Nora Ephron
The Dud Avocado by Elaine Dundy
Memento Mori by Muriel Spark
A View of the Harbour by Elizabeth Taylor

About the Author

Born in the Bronx in 1922, Grace Paley was a renowned writer and activist. Her Collected Stories was a finalist for both the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award. Her other collections include Enormous Changes at the Last Minute and Just As I Thought. She died in Vermont on August 22, 2007.
Product is sold out!