The Gifts

0 out of 5
Rate this
Delivery 7 workdays
11,35 €
Regular price: 11,95 €
Availability in stores
´Haunting, thrilling, wonderful. I loved it´ Stacey Halls, bestselling author of The Familiars

´Fierce and touching´ Jennifer Saint, bestselling author of Ariadne

´Your next obsession. . . Unique and captivating´ Cosmopolitan

Discover the extraordinary, luminous novel that everyone is talking about, perfect for fans of The Binding, The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock and The Doll Factory

It will take something extraordinary to show four women who they truly are . . .

October 1840. A young woman staggers alone through a forest in Shropshire as a huge pair of impossible wings rip themselves from her shoulders.

Meanwhile, when rumours of a ´fallen angel´ cause a frenzy across London, a surgeon desperate for fame and fortune finds himself in the grips of a dangerous obsession, one that will place the women he seeks in the most terrible danger . . .

THE GIFTS is the astonishing debut adult novel from the lauded author of BEARMOUTH. A gripping and ambitious book told through five different perspectives and set against the luminous backdrop of nineteenth century London, it explores science, nature and religion, enlightenment, the role of women in society and the dark danger of ambition.

´A boldly feminist novel that lingers long after the last page´ Susan Stokes Chapman, Sunday Times bestselling author of Pandora

´Imaginative, extraordinary . . . Brimming with historical detail and beautifully written, the soulful prose soars´ Daily Express

´A stirring tale of female empowerment, full of vivid imagery and evocative settings´ Observer
´Extraordinary . . . For any who loved The Essex Serpent, this is one that will sing to your soul´ Jackie Morris, The Lost Words

´Bewitching . . . addictive´ Essie Fox

´I loved The Gifts. Brilliant storytelling, magical realism, historical fiction that discusses feminism, religion, art and motherhood´ Kate Sawyer, Costa shortlisted author of The Stranding

´I devoured The Gifts, eager to find out the fate of its wonderfully drawn characters . . A real gem´ Louise Hare, author of This Lovely City

´A stunning book . . . Captivating and thrilling. Hyder´s writing really is magnificent. I was drawn inexorably into the narrative and completely bewitched by it. I didn´t so much read this book as live it with the characters´ My Weekly

´A glorious, evocative read, ripe for a movie adaptation. Victorian girl power? You bet´ Apple Books

´In this glorious novel both women and words take flight. Don´t miss it´ Annie Garthwaite, author of Cecily
Delivery 7 workdays
11,35 €
Regular price: 11,95 €
Availability in stores