The English Wife

The English Wife

Two women, a world apart.
A secret waiting to be discovered...
'An emotive and engaging read' Rosanna Ley


'Rich, evocative and utterly immersive, this beautifully written book swept me away' Jenny Ashcroft


'Evocative, sensual and authentic' Jane Johnson



VE Day 1945



As victory bells ring out across the country, war bride Ellie Burgess' happiness is overshadowed by grief. Her charismatic Newfoundlander husband Thomas is still missing in action.

Until a letter arrives explaining Thomas is back at home on the other side of the Atlantic recovering from his injuries.


Travelling to a distant country to live with a man she barely knows is the bravest thing Ellie has ever had to do. But nothing can prepare her for the harsh realities of her new home...



September 11th 2001



Sophie Parry is on a plane to New York on the most tragic day in the city's history. While the world watches the news in horror, Sophie's flight is rerouted to a tiny town in Newfoundland and she is forced to seek refuge with her estranged aunt Ellie.

Determined to discover what it was that forced her family apart all those years ago, newfound secrets may change her life forever...

This is a timeless story of love, sacrifice and resilience perfect for fans of Lorna Cook and Gill Paul.



What readers are saying about The English Wife:



"An epic tale of family, tragedy and love set mostly in the wild Newfoundland Coast... I highly recommend this book!!" Books, Wine, Cats 5*


"This story is so sensual and so touching... The sense of suspense makes this story a page turner! Highly recommend this book, especially if you're looking for a WWII era book without all of the historical stuff" To Read is to Breathe, 5*


"I couldn't put it down. It was not your typical historical novel and I think that's what I loved about it. Great book!" Dabbookclub, 4*


"A book that drew me in from the first pages! The characters come alive, they're so well written. Fans of historic fiction will love this story. An author to follow and a book I will be recommending" Consumer review, 4*
Доставка: 2-4 недели
Kоличество
9,49 €
Apollo Club price: 9,02 €
Наличие в магазинах
  • Kод продукта: 9780008314583
  • Штрихкод: 9780008314583
  • Дата введения статьи: 25 июня 2020 г.
  • Aвтор: Adrienne Chinn
  • Издательство: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Год: 25.06.2020
  • Формат Книги: Mягкая обложка
  • Cтраницы: 400

Последние отзывы

Средняя оценка missing (0 всего проголосовавших)
5 звезд 0
4 звезд 0
3 звезд 0
2 звезд 0
1 звезд 0
Поделитесь своими мыслями с другими клиентами
Добавить в корзину...
Adding to Wishlist...
Закрыть
Это поле обязательно для заполнения.
Please enter 2 or more characters.
Это поле обязательно для заполнения.
Please enter 2 or more characters.
First name is not valid.
This is not an email address.
Email address is required.
This email is already registered.
This is not an email address.
Это поле обязательно для заполнения.
Это поле обязательно для заполнения.
Это поле обязательно для заполнения.
Это поле обязательно для заполнения.
Enter a valid password.
Пожалуйста, введите 6 или более символов.
Please enter 16 or less characters.
Passwords are not same.
Isikukood/reg nr. puudub.
Reg nr. puudub.
Firma nimi puudub.
There is already an account with this personal/company code
Invalid Estonian personal code
Это поле обязательно для заполнения.
Birthday field is not valid.
Email, identification code or password is wrong.